Tropical Depression 15/Cyclone Update

We are getting ready for a Tropical Cyclone here in Fiji friends!

Image

Satellite Image from Tuesday showing the formation over Fiji

 

Tropical Depression 15 has been bearing down on Fiji for the past few days causing heavy rain, thunderstorms, and localized flash flooding (usually coinciding with high tides in rivers).

 

The depression will be named when it becomes a cyclone which should be sometime on Saturday or Sunday, it is expected to hit the Fiji group as a Category 1 or 2 storm.

Image

Satellite Image from Thursday

 

I came into the Capital, Suva on Monday. All volunteers are now on “Standfast” as part of our Emergency Action Plan for all volunteers in country. Standfast means that we aren’t allowed to move from our current locations and all boat travel is strictly prohibited, meaning I have no chance of getting back to my island before early next week.

Image

Victoria Parade (street) in Suva this morning

 

This is the 4th official cyclone that I have gone through here in Fiji (Daphne, Jasmine, and Evan the category 4 that hit in December 2012). We have had a really quiet hot season so far, minimal heavy rain storms etc, its been just oppressively hot all season and the rainstorms have been few and far between.

 

I submitted our report for the second funding deposit for our UNDP piggery project this morning and then roamed around downtown Suva. Everything is shut down for the most part. This morning for about 3 hours the electricity went out and a water line broke.  The two large shopping plazas are closed (MHCC and Tappoo City) so I got a cup of coffee at, where else? McDonalds. The one place you can guarantee will be open rain or shine (or cyclone). I walked back towards the town center and found a grocery store open (RB Patels). It was so busy with people getting ready and stocking up on essentials for the storm. I had purchased most of what I already needed for the weekend, but was slightly disappointed that I couldn’t find a bread shop open. I just wanted a peanut butter and jelly sandwich!  Its okay though because I have all that I really need here.

Image

Downtown Suva this morning

 

I crossed the street over to the produce market to purchase some more fruits and all. After 3 hot/cyclone seasons I know how to prepare and what to expect after. I bought an exorbitant amount of guavas and passionfruits because I know that after  the cyclone comes through all of those precious fruits will be scattered and broken on the ground… gotta get while the gettings good! I bought $7 worth of passionfruits and $5 worth of guavas… also at the hotel I have bananas, lady finger bananas, limes, a few tomatoes, some granola, honey, jam, peanut butter, oats, noodles, pasta, eggs, roti, long beans, lettuce, onions, cucumbers, carrots, spring onions, oranges, an avocado, yogurt, corn and cheese. I think I will be fine! 

Image

My preparations

 

My house in the village has been secured by the village, my woven mat on the floor was picked off the floor and put under my mattress because the rain has a horrible tendency to flood in my front room (aka my kitchen, living room, and office area…) all my shutters have been locked in place and things picked up off the floor in case it floods. The creek runs behind my house and at high tide and periods of heavy rain there is a tendency for it to flood.

Image

A picture from back in the village. One of the outdoor cooking sheds that collapsed from the wind.

 

So just to recap- its expected to hit as a Category 1 or 2 cyclone on Saturday or Sunday. Ill let everyone know how things are going.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment